Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Literary Criticism Award 2020

Last Updated on March 16, 2020 by

Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited – The Literary Criticism Award – The yearly prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best work. To encourage literary criticism, the Advisory Board of the Nigeria Prize for Literature will reward one critic with the sum of N1,000,000.00.


Entries are hereby invited for: The Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Literary Criticism Award 2020



  • Since the aim is to promote Nigerian literature in the world, the prize will be open to literary critics from all over the world. Special considerations shall be given to critical essays on new writings in Nigerian Literature.
  • Contestants shall send in three critical essays published in major scholarly journals. Such journals shall have a proven track record of dedication to excellence and must have international circulation.
  • No critical essay previously submitted for this competition may be considered at a later date, even if major revisions of it have been made.
  • Mere manuscripts will not be considered. Entries not submitted by the deadline and according to stated conditions shall not be considered.
  • Only entries published in the year of the competition or within three years before then shall be considered.
  • No member of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges can enter their essay(s) for the literary criticism award in the year they are serving.

Submission Procedure

  • All applicants must submit their entries accompanied by an applicationform obtainable online from the NLNG website or by clicking the Application Form Download Link Below.
  • Completed forms must be printed and submitte allong with the entries. Failure to meet the stated conditions will lea to disqualification of the entry
  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence

Panel of Judges:

  • Professor Mary Kolawole – Chairman
  • Professor Tanimu Abubakar – Member
  • Dr. Solomon Axumurana – Member

Advisory Board:

  • Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo – Chairman
  • Professor Jerry Agada – Member
  • Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe – Member

Announcement and Public Presentation of Winners

  • The Winners will be announced and presented in October

Application Closing Date

31st March, 2020.

Method of Application

Interested and qualified candidates should send their entries to:
The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
Corporate Head Officer
NLNG Road, Amadi Creek,
Port Harcourt, Rivers State.
The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigerian LNG Limited
4th Floor, Heron House,
10 Dean Farrar Street,
London, SW1 H ODX.



Click Here to Download Application Form (Word Format – doc)

Note: Late entries will not be entertained.

Leave your thoughts